More Kiwi Music for your (my) listening pleasure

February 12, 2011 § Leave a comment

Phew.  It’s been a busy week. I’ve just decided to move countries.  In May.  So I have a ton of crap to sort out and I don’t feel like being organised right now.

Although it’s all very cool and exciting, I’m feeling quite tense this week.  In an attempt to ameliorate my stressy vibes I’ve been making playlist after playlist. Here are some of my NZ picks this week:

1. Dictaphone Blues – Questionier

I like what Dictaphone Blues have been doing with their sound recently.  Sweet chunky drums, a little bitta synth, wowowah guitar, a lotta echo on those vocals. AAH DIG ITTT.

2. The Pink Pound Experience – Easy Come, Easy Go

There’s something vaguely uncomfortable about that band name, but this song is flippin’ neato, in a guilty pleasure kinda way. Classic thumping pop, and could easily be a big hit.  I’m not overly stoked with the mixing on this track though, it’s the only thing preventing me playing this on loop.   The drums are stealing too much space, and they strangely sound a little tinny, especially the cymbals (also I’d tighten up the hi-hats for this kind of track).  Other than that, though, I’m lovin’ it.

3. T54 – Ginger in Mouth

It feels like 1999 and I like it.

4. Pine – Heartbroken Hill

Hey Pine you are cute and you have a cool album cover do you want to go on a date with me?

5. Lawrence Arabia – Apple Pie Bed

Great chorus.

6. Pikachunes – Nervous

Straight on to my repeat-a-million-times list.  Can’t get enough, can’t get enough, no.

7. Bang Bang Eche! – Fist Full of Dollars

These Christchurch young’uns are really hitting their stride, I’m excited to see where they go from here.  This track has great energy – I’m not ashamed to say I’ve had a little dance in my bedroom while listening to it.

8. Grayson Gilmour – Gem Apple John

I know I keep putting this bloke in my playlists but fuuuuuck this album is. that. good.  Buy it.

9. Panther and the Zoo – Everything, Everyone

Yeah this was in my last playlist, but it deserves another mention anyway.  That singer has a simply splendid voice.

Yay thanks NZ.  Good job.  I’ll shout you a dollar mixture for being so sweet.

Tagged: , , , , , , , , , , ,

Leave a Reply

What’s this?

You are currently reading More Kiwi Music for your (my) listening pleasure at Jams 'n' Tones.

meta

